Capability and Maturity Model (CMMI) – Levels

Capability and Maturity Model is initially developed for department of Defense. The main focus of CMMI is to make sure that constant integration of Systems and Software. According to Software Engineering Institute, there are 5 levels of maturity in the Capability and Maturity Model. There is a clear distinction between the Capability and Maturity. the method of assessment differs for Capability assessment and Maturity assessment
The Maturity levels are
1. initial – Process Ineffective, Poorly controlled and Highly Reactive.
2. Managed – Process Characterized for Projects and often Reactive
3. Defined – Process Characterized for organization and is proactive. (Projects tailor the organizational process to the project needs)
4. Quantitatively Managed – Process Measured and Controlled.
5. Optimizing – Focus on Process Improvement.
From Maturity Level 2 and above, there are a set of process Areas which the organization is expected to carry out. we will discuss these in the subsequent posts.

Level 4 and 5 are called as High maturity processes where data based decision-making plays a vital role

Please share this on Facebook. if you like this blog, like us on

Originally posted 2013-08-24 03:45:00.

CMMI Service Model – Process Areas by Maturity Levels

There are a total of 24 process areas to defined in the CMMI Service Model. This model is also called as CMMI-SVC. These are divided into 4 groups by Maturity Level. Even though there are 5 Maturity levels, there is none defined for Level 1. The maturity levels Start only from Level 2. For an organization to achieve a specific maturity level, it must be practicing all the practices defined for each of the process area defined for the specific Level.  Level 4 & 5 are called as High Maturity Process Areas. I will discuss each of the process areas in my later posts. As the Maturity Level increases, the practices required to be implemented increases. Please note that a higher level includes all the process areas listed in the Previous level.

Now Let us list the process areas, along with their common acronym Used.

Level 1 – Initial
Level -2 – Managed

  1. Configuration Management (CM) 
  2. Measurement and Analysis (MA)
  3. Process and Product Quality Assurance (PPQA)
  4. Requirements Management (REQM)
  5. Supplier Agreement Management (SAM) – This PA is optional
  6. Service Delivery (SD)
  7. Work Monitoring and Control (WMC)
  8. Work Planning (WP)
Level -3 -Defined
  1. Capacity and Availability Management (CAM)
  2. Decision Analysis and Resolution (DAR)
  3. Incident Resolution and Prevention (IRP)
  4. Integrated Work Management (IWM)
  5. Organizational Process Definition (OPD)
  6. Organizational Process Focus (OPF
  7. Organizational Training (OT)
  8. Risk Management (RSKM)
  9. Service Continuity (SCON)
  10. Service System Development (SSD)
  11. Service System Transition (SST)
  12. Strategic Service Management (STSM)
Level – 4- Quantitatively Managed
  1. Organizational Process Performance (OPP)
  2. Quantitative Work Management (QWM)
Level – 5 Optimizing
  1. Causal Analysis and Resolution (CAR)
  2. Organizational Performance Management (OPM)
We will discuss various components subsequently
Please share this on facebook. if you like this blog, like us on

Originally posted 2013-08-25 20:13:00.